From Convert to Convent

NASHVILLE DOMINICANS, ST CECILIA DOMINICAN SISTERS, DOMINICAN SISTERS OF ST CECILIA CONGREGATIONMy journey to the convent is intimately linked to my journey to the Catholic Church. In order to share my vocation story, I must first share my conversion story.

When I was growing up, I would never have guessed I would become a Sister. It wasn’t until high school that I learned that there was a God and that He loved me immensely and had an incredible plan for my life. A drama teacher at the performing arts school I attended first shared with me with the most basic truths of our faith. Very quickly I fell head over heels in love with God and when I shared my growing faith with her I distinctly remember her asking me one day, “You’re not going to become a nun, are you?!” I was quick to reply, “I’m not even Catholic!” But deep in my heart I knew I would.

After I graduated from high school I was privileged to attend a six-week dance exchange program in Surrey, England. Towards the end of the program, a friend invited me to Mass for the first time. I was blown away by the experience and all I could compare it to was a “show,” complete with fascinating choreography, costumes, and songs. I was eager to experience the Mass again and again. Knowing that no ticket was necessary for this public event, I decided to attend as many Masses as I possibly could!