Receive the Honor of His Love

“Sister, can you tell me about Therese of a Zoo?” –Age 15

I believe that Saint Dominic and Blessed Jane have had my family in their care for a long time: From my great-grandmother’s daily rosary, to my grandmother’s attendance at Dominican High, to Blessed Jane’s intercession for my own parents and family for daughters to join Dominic’s family, to my Baptism by a Dominican priest. It is owing to my family’s tremendous love for me that I in turn learned how to give. My baptismal grace was nourished, mercifully, by the sacraments in their due order. I was a good Sunday school student, but I was also a “goody two-shoes,” so my motivation at that time was not always a loving relationship with the Lord!

Reading my life in light of the sacraments, I can see that my Confirmation, that completion of the baptismal grace, strengthened me to receive my vocation. I remember pulling up to the church in 8th grade feeling frightened and personally unprepared for an event that everyone said was so important. When Bishop Foley spoke to the confirmandi before Mass, however, his words filled me with peace and intense desire, a real miracle of grace. That anointing opened me for all that was to unfold.

High school was my first experience of Catholic education, and it was life-changing. For the first time I learned the richness of the Catholic faith. I learned that the Church was a Mother and could be trusted; that there were 2,000 years of wisdom in her teaching; that Christ was truly present in the Blessed Sacrament. I was falling in love with the Faith and spending time with the Lord in the chapel. Our Sisters, the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia, were teaching at the school, and I suppose what most affected me then was that they were themselves and they loved me.