Bearing Fruit

nashville dominicans, Dominican sisters of st. cecilia congregation, nashville, education, teaching, dominican sisters, st. cecilia congregation, sister maria karol“If a grain of wheat … dies, it bears much fruit.” I often heard these words, but not knowing how such an apparent contradiction could be true, I never really understood them. Yet, these are the words that led me to the Congregation of St. Cecilia, where each day I witness the manifestation of this truth in the lives of the Dominican Sisters. This powerful example of the whole community as well as of individual sisters, who in their lives “bear much fruit,” makes me hope that one day I will have the honor of inheriting and passing on this heritage myself.

Growing up in Poland, I experienced the marvelous influence of the Catholic Church, which in the 1980s was strengthened and firmly established in the heart of every Pole through its struggle with the communist system. As a high school student, I was gradually led to believe that my response to my Catholic faith could only be fully realized in a religious community. Yet, before any of my plans could take root, my family suddenly decided to leave Poland. My call to religious life, then, remained unanswered as our immigrant journey led us through Italy to Calgary, Canada. I didn’t feel ready to leave my family in a new land where we had no relatives or friends. Gradually, in light of other personal goals and aspirations, the question of my vocation faded into the background of my life, and it wasn’t until the death of my parents that I decided to look into it one last time. I knew that if I didn’t consider it seriously, I would always wonder and ask myself, “What if…?,” regardless of the path I would eventually choose. When my search for an orthodox Catholic community in Canada proved futile, I decided to dedicate myself fully to a newly discovered love – special education.